top of page

A Shift in Thought

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”

The term love your neighbor, or love one another has been bantered around for centuries. Yet in the past 19 months it has been used as a weapon for those within the Body of Messiah. We have used those words on each other to demonstrate to the hearer that they are indeed not loving their neighbor by either not choosing or by choosing to take part in the current happenings of the day. It's disgusting and a pathetic use of the living and active Word of God.

Or so the Lord told on my walk with Him...


 

He is never impressed by how we defend our rights, did you know that?

Never once in scripture does He admonish us to defend our God given rights. I find it interesting that many, myself included, have spent the better past of recent months volleying words of 'you shoulds' and 'you oughts' back and forth across the keyboard. Rarely are we compelled to say "it is written, in the Word of God..."


Don't get me wrong, I have used the Word correctly, to encourage and exhort my brothers and sisters to not give way to fear. Yet in my mind I have looked askance at those who have different view points than me. It's not the words I have spoken in public, but those I have uttered to close friends and even, sadly to the Lord.

He does care about our every need, want, desire and comfort. But more than that, He cares so very much about a hurting and dying world- all of which we as a people have completely lost sight of. Or at least He mentioned as much on our walk together.


 


The Father gave me a rather upsetting revelation, well, upsetting only to my ego and pride that I thought I had already rid myself of.


It's no secret to most people know where I and my family stand on the current events of the day. Even before the world attempted to turn upside down, I was like, "nah, I'm out. My kid got cancer, and he had some brain situations, I feel like we just ought to skip that part of childhood with stabs and pokes for my other children." Turns out they faired much better health wise in their younger years than the first born did.


As this topic has risen up recent the thought came to my mind that if it is made mandatory for travel, and if we are missionaries, (my family) then what am I to do? I mean, I can't throw my hands up and say "welp, guess those people can't get healing because this thing goes against my principles". I mean. I could, but, personality wise, it's literally not possible.

Nothing will ever stop me from bringing healing to the nations. I pray you feel the same in this sense. I know our Father in Heaven certainly does.


So as our family has pondered this, my daughter, who frankly is so incredibly wise, says "Mom. The word of God says 'they will drink deadly poison and it shall not affect them'."

Quite the pierce to my heart from my wise daughter. She's right.


In fact, if push came to shove, shouldn't I be proclaiming that none of this will have any affect on me?


And shouldn't I also (wait for it, here' comes the truth bomb the Lord laid in my lap), shouldn't I also be praying this for other people I know who have gotten this?


If I call myself a believer in Jesus the Messiah, rather than posting data and stats on side effects and deaths, (Lord forgive me. I literally didn't know what I was doing!) shouldn't I be speaking LIFE over people and not shaming them for their choice?


Do you realize that we speak and say the stats, that we are claiming them to be truth, and others will be affected by those side effects?

Did you know that when we speak out loud about shedding etc we are claiming it as truth, as our own, and not what the word of God says about us and our bodies?

We have the power to create anything with our words and yet...


Before any of you pick up your pitchforks, everyone calm down please.


Know that before I begin aligning with anything and seemed to have rolled over, I am and have been, claiming that I am exempt in every single way possible. I can assure you, the prayers I pray over this situation are quite unlike anything you all have heard me say in public.

I am and have been proclaiming that this situation will be handled because I and others like me, have continued to do the very thing we have been called to do and that is bring healing to the nations- first and foremost by praying fervently for the nations.

Remember, if you've got a challenge with this word, you must take it up with the Word of God.

"And these miracle signs will accompany those who believe. They will drive out demons in the power of my name. They will speak in tongues. They will be supernaturally protected from snakes and from drinking anything poisonous. And, (here's my favorite part) they will lay hands on the sick and heal them."

By the way, those words are in red, seems they might bare our attention.


 

The Lord wanted me to know and you as well that if we indeed are going to love our neighbor, we must do it as our Messiah showed us how. To have compassion on those who are full of fear. To pray for those who chose a vaccine, that their bodies would respond in a favorable manner. To pray for those choosing to not partake in the vaccine, that they would be kind and loving with their words. And above all, to not become so consumed with what we think is the right road that we lose sight of the road the Lord has us on- make disciples of all nations.



bottom of page